Skip to content


How can I be sure my confectionery is Vegan?

How can I be sure my confectionery is Vegan?

Many people are surprised to learn that not all confectionery is suitable for those following a vegan diet. In this blog post, we'll provide an overview of what veganism is, how lollies can be vegan, and how you can be sure that the confectionery you're eating is vegan-friendly.

What is Veganism?

Veganism is a way of living which aims to exclude, as far as possible and practical, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose. - The Vegan Society

This means that vegans do not eat any animal products, including meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, honey, or gelatin. Some vegans also choose not to wear leather, wool, silk, down, or fur; or use cosmetics or other products that have been tested on animals or contain animal-derived ingredients.

 How can Lollies be Vegan?

Lollies (or candy) can be vegan as long as they don't contain any animal products. Common non-vegan ingredients in lollies include gelatin (made from animal bones), carmine (crushed cochineal insects), shellac (made from beetle secretions), and beeswax. However, there are many companies that make vegan-friendly lollies using plant-based gums and waxes instead. We represent several of these brands such as Dr. John's Healthy Sweets and  Zolli Candy. 

To be sure that the confectionery you're eating is vegan-friendly, always check the Nutritional Information label (NIP) for Animal ingredients: such as gelatin (e.g., from pork or beef), carmine (cochineal insects), shellac (secretions from Indian lac bugs), vitamin D3 (usually from sheep's wool), beeswax/honey; Dairy derivatives: such as lactose, whey protein concentrate/isolate; Egg components: such as albumen; and Honey. If any of these are listed on the label, the product is not suitable for vegans.

You might also see "may contain traces of milk" or "made in a factory that also handles eggs." These statements are required by law in Australia and New Zealand when a product contains allergens that are not listed in the ingredients list but may be present due to cross contamination during manufacturing. This does not mean that the product definitely contains traces of these allergens - only that there is a possibility it may do so.

In terms of the products we provide which are suitable for Vegan diets we have a lot to choose from! These include:

  • Luscious Lollipops: Choose from various classic, swirled, sunkissed and mixed oval and tooth-shaped options with mouth-watering flavours such as Berry, Watermelon, Loveable Lime, Radiant Rainbow, Outrageous Orange, Juicy Grape, Pomegranate Punch, Green Apple, Blue Raspberry Blast, Strawberry, Cheeky Cherry and dairy-free Peach Creamsicle.
  • Lots and Lots of Lollies: This delectable collection of hard sweets offers Butterscotch, Signature Sours, Chocolate, Peppermint, Spearmint, Creamsicle Swirl, Classic, Summer and Sunkissed Fruit, and our Ultimate and Assortment packs also include irresistible flavours such as Peaches & Cream, Green Apple, Strawberries & Cream, Lemon, Orange Creamsicle, Strawberry and Blackberry Creamsicle.

If you have any allergies or dietary restrictions, always check the label before purchasing or consuming a product.

As always, if you're unsure about something, please feel free to contact us and we'll be happy to help!


Older Post
Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Close (esc)


Sign up today for our newsletter to get first dibs on special offers and new products. Plus spend $45 or over on product and receive FREE POSTAGE for anywhere in Australia! NB: Cannot be combined with 'bundle and save' offers and excludes postage cost.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now